Email Threads between the Bhatias, Women’s Web and me

 

Because this distressing issue of a technical error on the part of Women’s Web, which they have agreed to (see public apology here), has set tempers flaring, I am creating another open letter as the Bhatias are threatening to sue me. I am a little shocked, with friends and supporters taking one side then another, so I thought, let me also make these emails public, since I am being called all kinds of names here. And if this is not cyber bullying, I do not know what is.

 

Read if you are interested. Look away if you are not. Either way, it really does not matter to me. I have my heart and conscience and it is clear. Because if I unwittingly was upset two or three days ago, my anger was justified. We all make errors. I apologised. Not once, several times. In email, on social media, in public, in open letters. If the Bhatias do not want to accept my apology, that is their prerogative.

Burn me at the stake. It’s been done before.

Love,

Jhilmil

THREAD ONE:

Aakanksha Bhatia

AttachmentsMay 21 (2 days ago)

to Women’s, me

Hi Aparna,

Thanks for your reply.
This is really heartbreaking for me to be in this situation where I have been blamed for a mistake which I have not committed. You can see my last 3 articles on women’s web and also check my profile to verify my credibility on doing such a silly and horrendous mistake.
Jhilmil (marked on this email) has clearly mentioned on her tweet (PFA screenshot of conversation on twitter or you can even directly see our conversation on twitter) that she has also submitted the same article on women’s web. And this leads me to say that there must be some technical error on your end with which the post got published under my account and not Jhilmil’s. Also the fact that you have not even received her article submission (as per your last email) makes it more obvious that there is some big technical error at your end.
Jhilmil – Request you to please confirm Aparna of your article submission on women’s web and also share date and time details. This would definitely help them to verify this error.
I hope to hear back from you with concrete answers on this issue.
Thanks

On Sat, May 21, 2016 at 11:06 PM, Women’s Web <community@womensweb.in> wrote:

Hi Aakanksha,

We only publish posts submitted by authors themselves. There is no question of us publishing a post on your account that is not submitted by you. There is no technical error that we can see. Nor has Jhilmil submitted this post to us. This post was published by Jhilmil on Open Road Review.
If you have not submitted this to us, then it is through someone else with access to your account – again, not because of any error at our end.
We have taken down the post.
Regards,
Aparna Vedapuri Singh
Chief Editor

On Sat, May 21, 2016 at 10:14 PM, Aakanksha Bhatia wrote:

Women’s Web Team,

that I have not submitted this article from my account but its original author Jhilmil (as she agree to it on twitter and also on her comments in this article) has submitted this from her account on Women’s Web very recently.
I have not received any response from your side on this issue which is really disappointing. My image as an author has been damaged and I expect Women’s Web to sort this issue and post a public clarification on the technical error on your end immediately.
Such mistakes from your end really demotivate aspiring young authors like me. I hope you will take necessary action and do not repeat the same mistake again.
Look forward to hear back from you.

Thanks


2 Attachments
THREAD TWO

Women’s Web

May 21 (2 days ago)

to Aakanksha, me

Dear Aakanksha,

We are also looking closer into the issue. Rest assured, we will issue a fuller clarification as soon as we can get to the root of the issue. This has never ever happened on Women’s Web where one author’s post can go as another’s – and we were under the impression that Jhilmil’s post was only shared at Open Road Review.
We are still unable to find a tech error at our end, but we are looking into it very closely.
In any case, we will amend the public clarification to reflect that this is not an error from your end,
Aparna

Aakanksha Bhatia

May 21 (2 days ago)

to Women’s, me

Hi Aparna,

I understand technical and human error happens and this could be the case here too. I would wait to hear back from you with full clarification.
Also I hope all the comments which has been written against me on the article is immediately deleted (still 5 comments are live which damage my reputation as an author) till the time you have got complete clarity on this issue. I appreciate your prompt action to edit public clarification on the post.
Jhilmil – I would still request you to please confirm here on email that you did submit this article on women’s web from your account. I am sure you will understand my situation here and assist in solving this issue. I really appreciate your cooperation.
Thanks

Jhilmil Breckenridge

May 21 (2 days ago)

to Aakanksha, Women’s

Yes, indeed, it is still there in my dashboard as a pending article, so am not sure what is going on.

Women’s Web

May 21 (2 days ago)

to me, Aakanksha

Hi both:

We have removed (and closed) comments on this post until we can get to the bottom of the issue. This may take a couple of days to get into the database and server; please bear with us until then.
Aparna

Aakanksha Bhatia

May 21 (2 days ago)

to Women’s, me

Hi Jhilmil,

Thanks for your confirmation. I request you to also share a screenshot of the same if possible which will help Women’s Web team.
Aparna – I hope this clear the confusion here and also prove the error. I hope to receive a full clarification on this issue by May 24th EOD and I hope this provide your team enough time to check this issue.
Thanks

Jhilmil Breckenridge

May 21 (2 days ago)

to Sanjukta, Kulpreet, Women’s, Aakanksha

In my opinion, what makes this whole issue fishy is that Akanksha did not raise the issue with you until I raised the issue. Basically she must have got the email saying her article was up, why did she not write back saying she had not submitted it?

Warm regards,

Jhilmil

Aakanksha Bhatia

May 21 (2 days ago)

to Ayush, me, Women’s, Sanjukta, Kulpreet

Yes because at times you do not check your social updates tab in your email. I did receive publishing confirmation mail (today at 6 am) which i read after you raised the issue.

On one hand WW team has completely denied that this article was not even submitted by jhilmil account (read last email). On contrary jhilmil still see that as an article in her WW dashboard as one which has not been approved for publishing.
My questions are:
How can same article be submitted from two different accounts at same time ?
How can WW team deny that the article was not submitted from your account ?
More importantly just to mention:
1. I write articles as my passion and you can verify my last 3 articles published in WW for plagiarism. Also do check my blogs where i have written over 30 articles which could be verified for plagiarism.
I mean all of a sudden how can i really copy paste an article word by word ?
And its funnier that i would not event change the line in article which says ‘I am based in UK’. Would i really write that after all everyone in my network know that i am based in Delhi.
2. To check my credibility i am a PhD scholar in Delhi University and also one of the top 50 fellows in social science stream who has been selected as a JRF by govt of India (UGC). I topped Delhi university in B.A, M.A and Bed. My ref can be taken from any academician in psychology dept at Delhi University.
With such academic records and credibility do you really think i would be copy pasting an entire article (word by word) ?
I am a simple human being who live a much simpler life with focus on academics and I really can not endure such mess in my life which had been created by a silly technical error.
I would request WW team to seriously look into this matter and clarify asap.
Thanks

Women’s Web

5:19 AM (11 hours ago)

to Ayush, Aakanksha, me, Sanjukta, Kulpreet

Dear All,

While we understand the sensitivities involved, we will need at least until end of day to come back.
Rest assured, if there is a technical error that switched author names, we will be the first to admit it openly. Since this has never happened previously, we do need a little time to get to the bottom of it. Our first understanding of this problem was a little different, but the tech team is looking into it more closely now, and we will have a clear explanation hopefully soon.
It will also be made public so that there is no confusion to anyone. Please do hold on until then.
Regards,
Aparna

On Sun, May 22, 2016 at 1:56 AM, Ayush Bansal wrote:

Dear WW team/Aparna & Jhilmil,

To come in the middle of this discussion I would like to introduce myself:
1. Firstly as Aakansha’s husband &
2. Secondly as someone who run a successful EdTech startup in India (iDreamCareer.com) from the last 5 years
To this issue:
1. I am shocked to see such an issue which has unnecessarily come in life of my wife Aakanksha and also me now. I do not need to add on to her credibility after last email but I would definitely request everyone to hold your thoughts and opinion till WW team verify this issue on their end.
2. As someone who run a tech venture I do understand that technical error can happen and to my experience I see no other reason but sheer technical error to be the reason of such misunderstanding in this case.
I just hope WW to sort this issue and give complete clarity with “full justification” & be humble enough to accept this as a technical fault on their end (if they find this out after their analysis). I also hope that this issue is being taken by WW team on high priority.
We both look forward to hear back from WW/Aparna at earliest.
*I would urge and request all related and non-related parties involved in this discussion to be humble & sensitive, be it email communication or social media.
Thanks
Attachments

 

THREAD THREE:

Women’s Web

5:26 AM (11 hours ago)

to me, Aakanksha

Dear Both:

We are digging into the bottom of this – since in our 5 years of publishing, this has never happened, there are no precedents and we need time today to get to the root of it. (The tech team has already begun over the weekend).
Given the sensitivities involved, I would prefer to keep emails to the two of you only as the affected parties. Based on our investigation, a public clarification in full will also be issued.
Regards,
Aparna

Jhilmil Breckenridge

5:28 AM (11 hours ago)

to Women’s, Aakanksha

That is perfect, thank you.

Warmly,

Jhilmil

Women’s Web

6:04 AM (11 hours ago)

to Ayush, me, Aakanksha

Hi Ayush,

Thanks for letting us know. I am sorry to hear that. A public clarification is going up right away. Our tech team has just reverted with the details.
Aparna

On Mon, May 23, 2016 at 10:26 AM, Ayush Bansal wrote:

Hi Aparna,
Any further correspondence related to this matter has to be communicated to me.
Aakanksha is in no state to reply on this matter.

Thanks

Regards,
Ayush Bansal

On 23-May-2016, at 10:20 AM, Aakanksha Bhatia wrote:

Women’s Web

6:08 AM (11 hours ago)

to Ayush, me, Aakanksha

Hi Ayush/Aakanksha & Jhilmil,

I would appreciate if you could all share your phone numbers with me – either here or on a separate email as you prefer. We have clarity now, and will be putting up all details but I would also like to talk to you and tender a personal apology.
Regards,
Aparna

Jhilmil Breckenridge <jhilmilbreckenridge@gmail.com>

6:09 AM (11 hours ago)

to Women’s, Ayush, Aakanksha

My number is +447771423099.

Thanks,

Ayush Bansal

6:13 AM (10 hours ago)

to Sanjukta, Kulpreet, me, Women’s, Aakanksha

Here is the open letter: https://aakankshabhatia.wordpress.com/2016/05/23/an-open-letter-to-womens-web-pseudo-feminists-and-cyber-bullies/

Aparna – Why don’t you publish this open letter in Women’s Web ? Would not this count as something which has gone against women ? I hope you do publish it.
We first need a public apology and later we will be in any state to even hear from you on phone.
Thanks

Ayush Bansal

5:56 AM (11 hours ago)

to Women’s, me, Aakanksha
Boxbe Ayush Bansal is on your Guest List | Delete this guest
Hi Aparna,
Any further correspondence related to this matter has to be communicated to me.
Aakanksha is in no state to reply on this matter.

Thanks

Regards,
Ayush Bansal
On 23-May-2016, at 10:20 AM, Aakanksha Bhatia <aakankshabhatia01@gmail.com> wrote:
———- Forwarded message ———-
From: Jhilmil Breckenridge
Date: Mon, May 23, 2016 at 9:58 AM
Subject: Re: Clarifications to be expected today
To: Women’s Web
Cc: Aakanksha Bhatia
That is perfect, thank you.

Warmly,

Jhilmil

On Monday, May 23, 2016, Women’s Web <community@womensweb.in> wrote:

Dear Both:

We are digging into the bottom of this – since in our 5 years of publishing, this has never happened, there are no precedents and we need time today to get to the root of it. (The tech team has already begun over the weekend).
Given the sensitivities involved, I would prefer to keep emails to the two of you only as the affected parties. Based on our investigation, a public clarification in full will also be issued.
Regards,
Aparna

 

Jhilmil Breckenridge

7:25 AM (9 hours ago)

to Ayush, Women’s, Aakanksha, Sanjukta, Kulpreet

I have not deleted or hidden anything Ayush. Everything is always alive in cyberspace anyway, as a tech guru, you should know that.

I am sorry your wife is distressed, but you have to understand, so was I.
I have offered a public apology on the womens web site, but should you want to proceed on your legal suits, all the best.
Warm regards,
Jhilmil Breckenridge

2016-05-23 5:47 GMT+01:00 Ayush Bansal

Boxbe Ayush Bansal is not on your Guest List |Approve sender | Approve domain
Hi Aparna,
I see you have woken up finally !!
Running a tech venture i can really tell you this error identification wont take more than 30 mins for any simple IT executive who mange your servers. This is really not justified for you to have taken so much of time. I really can’t be humble enough as it has crossed all limits of Aakanksha being cyber bullied even after your mail yesterday.
Your clarification wont do any good to us now. The damage in terms of cyber bullying aakanksha has been already done and i already see her into depression.
Worst part is to see how WW team has actually supported the parties in cyber bullying Aakanksha and you call yourself a platform to help woman ? Pathetic !!
We are publishing an open letter today in the next one hour and we may go ahead to file a suit on Thursday morning against all those who have been a part of this cyber bullying act. This should not happen with anyone else.
Enough is enough now !!
Jhilmil – there is no point deleting and hiding all your cyber bullying post now (the most recent one being your FB post) We have screenshots of all of it. Just FYI.
Regards,
Ayush Bansal

Ayush Bansal

5:47 AM (11 hours ago)

to Women’s, Aakanksha, me, Sanjukta, Kulpreet
Boxbe Ayush Bansal is on your Guest List | Delete this guest
Hi Aparna,
I see you have woken up finally !!
Running a tech venture i can really tell you this error identification wont take more than 30 mins for any simple IT executive who mange your servers. This is really not justified for you to have taken so much of time. I really can’t be humble enough as it has crossed all limits of Aakanksha being cyber bullied even after your mail yesterday.
Your clarification wont do any good to us now. The damage in terms of cyber bullying aakanksha has been already done and i already see her into depression.
Worst part is to see how WW team has actually supported the parties in cyber bullying Aakanksha and you call yourself a platform to help woman ? Pathetic !!
We are publishing an open letter today in the next one hour and we may go ahead to file a suit on Thursday morning against all those who have been a part of this cyber bullying act. This should not happen with anyone else.
Enough is enough now !!
Jhilmil – there is no point deleting and hiding all your cyber bullying post now (the most recent one being your FB post) We have screenshots of all of it. Just FYI.
Regards,
Ayush Bansal
On 23-May-2016, at 9:49 AM, Women’s Web <community@womensweb.in> wrote:

Dear All,

While we understand the sensitivities involved, we will need at least until end of day to come back.
Rest assured, if there is a technical error that switched author names, we will be the first to admit it openly. Since this has never happened previously, we do need a little time to get to the bottom of it. Our first understanding of this problem was a little different, but the tech team is looking into it more closely now, and we will have a clear explanation hopefully soon.
It will also be made public so that there is no confusion to anyone. Please do hold on until then.
Regards,
Aparna

On Sun, May 22, 2016 at 1:56 AM, Ayush Bansal wrote:

Dear WW team/Aparna & Jhilmil,

To come in the middle of this discussion I would like to introduce myself:
1. Firstly as Aakansha’s husband &
2. Secondly as someone who run a successful EdTech startup in India from the last 5 years
To this issue:
1. I am shocked to see such an issue which has unnecessarily come in life of my wife Aakanksha and also me now. I do not need to add on to her credibility after last email but I would definitely request everyone to hold your thoughts and opinion till WW team verify this issue on their end.
2. As someone who run a tech venture I do understand that technical error can happen and to my experience I see no other reason but sheer technical error to be the reason of such misunderstanding in this case.
I just hope WW to sort this issue and give complete clarity with “full justification” & be humble enough to accept this as a technical fault on their end (if they find this out after their analysis). I also hope that this issue is being taken by WW team on high priority.
We both look forward to hear back from WW/Aparna at earliest.
*I would urge and request all related and non-related parties involved in this discussion to be humble & sensitive, be it email communication or social media.
Thanks

On Sun, May 22, 2016 at 1:14 AM, Aakanksha Bhatia wrote:

Yes because at times you do not check your social updates tab in your email. I did receive publishing confirmation mail (today at 6 am) which i read after you raised the issue.

On one hand WW team has completely denied that this article was not even submitted by jhilmil account (read last email). On contrary jhilmil still see that as an article in her WW dashboard as one which has not been approved for publishing.
My questions are:
How can same article be submitted from two different accounts at same time ?
How can WW team deny that the article was not submitted from your account ?
More importantly just to mention:
1. I write articles as my passion and you can verify my last 3 articles published in WW for plagiarism. Also do check my blogs where i have written over 30 articles which could be verified for plagiarism.
I mean all of a sudden how can i really copy paste an article word by word ?
And its funnier that i would not event change the line in article which says ‘I am based in UK’. Would i really write that after all everyone in my network know that i am based in Delhi.
2. To check my credibility i am a PhD scholar in Delhi University and also one of the top 50 fellows in social science stream who has been selected as a JRF by govt of India (UGC). I topped Delhi university in B.A, M.A and Bed. My ref can be taken from any academician in psychology dept at Delhi University.
With such academic records and credibility do you really think i would be copy pasting an entire article (word by word) ?
I am a simple human being who live a much simpler life with focus on academics and I really can not endure such mess in my life which had been created by a silly technical error.
I would request WW team to seriously look into this matter and clarify asap.
Thanks

On Sunday, May 22, 2016, Jhilmil Breckenridge <jhilmilbreckenridge@gmail.com> wrote:

In my opinion, what makes this while issue fishy is that Akanksha did not raise the issue with you until I raised the issue. Basically she must have got the email saying her article was up, why did she not write back saying she had not submitted it?

Warm regards,

Jhilmil

On Saturday, May 21, 2016, Women’s Web <community@womensweb.in> wrote:

Hi both:

We have removed (and closed) comments on this post until we can get to the bottom of the issue. This may take a couple of days to get into the database and server; please bear with us until then.
Aparna

On Sun, May 22, 2016 at 12:01 AM, Jhilmil Breckenridge<jhilmilbreckenridge@gmail.com> wrote:

Yes, indeed, it is still there in my dashboard as a pending article, so am not sure what is going on.

Jhilmil

On Sat, May 21, 2016 at 7:30 PM, Aakanksha Bhatia wrote:

Hi Aparna,

I understand technical and human error happens and this could be the case here too. I would wait to hear back from you with full clarification.
Also I hope all the comments which has been written against me on the article is immediately deleted (still 5 comments are live which damage my reputation as an author) till the time you have got complete clarity on this issue. I appreciate your prompt action to edit public clarification on the post.
Jhilmil – I would still request you to please confirm here on email that you did submit this article on women’s web from your account. I am sure you will understand my situation here and assist in solving this issue. I really appreciate your cooperation.
Thanks

On Sat, May 21, 2016 at 11:42 PM, Women’s Web<community@womensweb.in> wrote:

Dear Aakanksha,

We are also looking closer into the issue. Rest assured, we will issue a fuller clarification as soon as we can get to the root of the issue. This has never ever happened on Women’s Web where one author’s post can go as another’s – and we were under the impression that Jhilmil’s post was only shared at Open Road Review.
We are still unable to find a tech error at our end, but we are looking into it very closely.
In any case, we will amend the public clarification to reflect that this is not an error from your end,
Aparna

On Sat, May 21, 2016 at 11:40 PM, Aakanksha Bhatia wrote:

Hi Aparna,

Thanks for your reply.
This is really heartbreaking for me to be in this situation where I have been blamed for a mistake which I have not committed. You can see my last 3 articles on women’s web and also check my profile to verify my credibility on doing such a silly and horrendous mistake.
Jhilmil (marked on this email) has clearly mentioned on her tweet (PFA screenshot of conversation on twitter or you can even directly see our conversation on twitter) that she has also submitted the same article on women’s web. And this leads me to say that there must be some technical error on your end with which the post got published under my account and not Jhilmil’s. Also the fact that you have not even received her article submission (as per your last email) makes it more obvious that there is some big technical error at your end.
Jhilmil – Request you to please confirm Aparna of your article submission on women’s web and also share date and time details. This would definitely help them to verify this error.
I hope to hear back from you with concrete answers on this issue.
Thanks

On Sat, May 21, 2016 at 11:06 PM, Women’s Web<community@womensweb.in> wrote:

Hi Aakanksha,

We only publish posts submitted by authors themselves. There is no question of us publishing a post on your account that is not submitted by you. There is no technical error that we can see. Nor has Jhilmil submitted this post to us. This post was published by Jhilmil on Open Road Review.
If you have not submitted this to us, then it is through someone else with access to your account – again, not because of any error at our end.
We have taken down the post.
Regards,
Aparna Vedapuri Singh
Chief Editor

On Sat, May 21, 2016 at 10:14 PM, Aakanksha Bhatia wrote:

Women’s Web Team,

that I have not submitted this article from my account but its original author Jhilmil (as she agree to it on twitter and also on her comments in this article) has submitted this from her account on Women’s Web very recently.
I have not received any response from your side on this issue which is really disappointing. My image as an author has been damaged and I expect Women’s Web to sort this issue and post a public clarification on the technical error on your end immediately.
Such mistakes from your end really demotivate aspiring young authors like me. I hope you will take necessary action and do not repeat the same mistake again.
Look forward to hear back from you.

Thanks


 

 

 

 


Regards,

Ayush Bansal

May 21 (2 days ago)

to Aakanksha, me, Women’s, Sanjukta, Kulpreet

Dear WW team/Aparna & Jhilmil,

To come in the middle of this discussion I would like to introduce myself:
1. Firstly as Aakansha’s husband &
2. Secondly as someone who run a successful EdTech startup in India from the last 5 years
To this issue:
1. I am shocked to see such an issue which has unnecessarily come in life of my wife Aakanksha and also me now. I do not need to add on to her credibility after last email but I would definitely request everyone to hold your thoughts and opinion till WW team verify this issue on their end.
2. As someone who run a tech venture I do understand that technical error can happen and to my experience I see no other reason but sheer technical error to be the reason of such misunderstanding in this case.
I just hope WW to sort this issue and give complete clarity with “full justification” & be humble enough to accept this as a technical fault on their end (if they find this out after their analysis). I also hope that this issue is being taken by WW team on high priority.
We both look forward to hear back from WW/Aparna at earliest.
*I would urge and request all related and non-related parties involved in this discussion to be humble & sensitive, be it email communication or social media.
Thanks

On Sun, May 22, 2016 at 1:14 AM, Aakanksha Bhatia wrote:

Yes because at times you do not check your social updates tab in your email. I did receive publishing confirmation mail (today at 6 am) which i read after you raised the issue.

On one hand WW team has completely denied that this article was not even submitted by jhilmil account (read last email). On contrary jhilmil still see that as an article in her WW dashboard as one which has not been approved for publishing.
My questions are:
How can same article be submitted from two different accounts at same time ?
How can WW team deny that the article was not submitted from your account ?
More importantly just to mention:
1. I write articles as my passion and you can verify my last 3 articles published in WW for plagiarism. Also do check my blogs where i have written over 30 articles which could be verified for plagiarism.
I mean all of a sudden how can i really copy paste an article word by word ?
And its funnier that i would not event change the line in article which says ‘I am based in UK’. Would i really write that after all everyone in my network know that i am based in Delhi.
2. To check my credibility i am a PhD scholar in Delhi University and also one of the top 50 fellows in social science stream who has been selected as a JRF by govt of India (UGC). I topped Delhi university in B.A, M.A and Bed. My ref can be taken from any academician in psychology dept at Delhi University.
With such academic records and credibility do you really think i would be copy pasting an entire article (word by word) ?
I am a simple human being who live a much simpler life with focus on academics and I really can not endure such mess in my life which had been created by a silly technical error.
I would request WW team to seriously look into this matter and clarify asap.
Thanks

On Sunday, May 22, 2016, Jhilmil Breckenridge <jhilmilbreckenridge@gmail.com> wrote:

In my opinion, what makes this while issue fishy is that Akanksha did not raise the issue with you until I raised the issue. Basically she must have got the email saying her article was up, why did she not write back saying she had not submitted it?

Warm regards,

Jhilmil

On Saturday, May 21, 2016, Women’s Web <community@womensweb.in> wrote:

Hi both:

We have removed (and closed) comments on this post until we can get to the bottom of the issue. This may take a couple of days to get into the database and server; please bear with us until then.
Aparna

On Sun, May 22, 2016 at 12:01 AM, Jhilmil Breckenridge<jhilmilbreckenridge@gmail.com> wrote:

Yes, indeed, it is still there in my dashboard as a pending article, so am not sure what is going on.

Jhilmil

On Sat, May 21, 2016 at 7:30 PM, Aakanksha Bhatia wrote:

Hi Aparna,

I understand technical and human error happens and this could be the case here too. I would wait to hear back from you with full clarification.
Also I hope all the comments which has been written against me on the article is immediately deleted (still 5 comments are live which damage my reputation as an author) till the time you have got complete clarity on this issue. I appreciate your prompt action to edit public clarification on the post.
Jhilmil – I would still request you to please confirm here on email that you did submit this article on women’s web from your account. I am sure you will understand my situation here and assist in solving this issue. I really appreciate your cooperation.
Thanks

On Sat, May 21, 2016 at 11:42 PM, Women’s Web<community@womensweb.in> wrote:

Dear Aakanksha,

We are also looking closer into the issue. Rest assured, we will issue a fuller clarification as soon as we can get to the root of the issue. This has never ever happened on Women’s Web where one author’s post can go as another’s – and we were under the impression that Jhilmil’s post was only shared at Open Road Review.
We are still unable to find a tech error at our end, but we are looking into it very closely.
In any case, we will amend the public clarification to reflect that this is not an error from your end,
Aparna

On Sat, May 21, 2016 at 11:40 PM, Aakanksha Bhatia wrote:

Hi Aparna,

Thanks for your reply.
This is really heartbreaking for me to be in this situation where I have been blamed for a mistake which I have not committed. You can see my last 3 articles on women’s web and also check my profile to verify my credibility on doing such a silly and horrendous mistake.
Jhilmil (marked on this email) has clearly mentioned on her tweet (PFA screenshot of conversation on twitter or you can even directly see our conversation on twitter) that she has also submitted the same article on women’s web. And this leads me to say that there must be some technical error on your end with which the post got published under my account and not Jhilmil’s. Also the fact that you have not even received her article submission (as per your last email) makes it more obvious that there is some big technical error at your end.
Jhilmil – Request you to please confirm Aparna of your article submission on women’s web and also share date and time details. This would definitely help them to verify this error.
I hope to hear back from you with concrete answers on this issue.
Thanks

On Sat, May 21, 2016 at 11:06 PM, Women’s Web<community@womensweb.in> wrote:

Hi Aakanksha,

We only publish posts submitted by authors themselves. There is no question of us publishing a post on your account that is not submitted by you. There is no technical error that we can see. Nor has Jhilmil submitted this post to us. This post was published by Jhilmil on Open Road Review.
If you have not submitted this to us, then it is through someone else with access to your account – again, not because of any error at our end.
We have taken down the post.
Regards,
Aparna Vedapuri Singh
Chief Editor

On Sat, May 21, 2016 at 10:14 PM, Aakanksha Bhatia wrote:

Women’s Web Team,

that I have not submitted this article from my account but its original author Jhilmil (as she agree to it on twitter and also on her comments in this article) has submitted this from her account on Women’s Web very recently.
I have not received any response from your side on this issue which is really disappointing. My image as an author has been damaged and I expect Women’s Web to sort this issue and post a public clarification on the technical error on your end immediately.
Such mistakes from your end really demotivate aspiring young authors like me. I hope you will take necessary action and do not repeat the same mistake again.
Look forward to hear back from you.

Thanks


 

 

 

Regards,

Ayush Bansal

8:00 AM (9 hours ago)

to me, Women’s, Aakanksha, Sanjukta, Kulpreet
Jhilmil,

You call youself an activist and feminist ? I recommend you change your profession or at least the pseudo-title in your social media account.

And yes with guidance of some of the best known Cyber Space expert and also someone who has founded World’s biggest event for writers (Well he feel this is horrible), I will make sure to do something (may be to file a suit or whatever they suggest me now) which will let any other person (like you, Sanjukta, Reshma and even WW) to think twice before bullying anyone on social media.
This is no more about me or Aakanksha but about all those people out there who simply love writing but do not expect to earn money by cyber bullying other fellow writers via cheap publicity.
This issue has at least got the world to see true colors of pesudo-feminist people like you, Sanjukta, Reshma and even platforms like WW.
More power to writers across the world !!

 

Women’s Web

5:26 AM (11 hours ago)

to me, Aakanksha

Dear Both:

We are digging into the bottom of this – since in our 5 years of publishing, this has never happened, there are no precedents and we need time today to get to the root of it. (The tech team has already begun over the weekend).
Given the sensitivities involved, I would prefer to keep emails to the two of you only as the affected parties. Based on our investigation, a public clarification in full will also be issued.
Regards,
Aparna

Jhilmil Breckenridge <jhilmilbreckenridge@gmail.com>

5:28 AM (11 hours ago)

to Women’s, Aakanksha

That is perfect, thank you.

Warmly,

Jhilmil

Women’s Web

6:04 AM (11 hours ago)

to Ayush, me, Aakanksha

Hi Ayush,

Thanks for letting us know. I am sorry to hear that. A public clarification is going up right away. Our tech team has just reverted with the details.
Aparna

On Mon, May 23, 2016 at 10:26 AM, Ayush Bansal wrote:

Hi Aparna,
Any further correspondence related to this matter has to be communicated to me.
Aakanksha is in no state to reply on this matter.

Thanks

Regards,
Ayush Bansal

On 23-May-2016, at 10:20 AM, Aakanksha Bhatia wrote:

Women’s Web

6:08 AM (10 hours ago)

to Ayush, me, Aakanksha

Hi Ayush/Aakanksha & Jhilmil,

I would appreciate if you could all share your phone numbers with me – either here or on a separate email as you prefer. We have clarity now, and will be putting up all details but I would also like to talk to you and tender a personal apology.
Regards,
Aparna

Jhilmil Breckenridge <jhilmilbreckenridge@gmail.com>

6:09 AM (10 hours ago)

to Women’s, Ayush, Aakanksha

My number is +447771423099.

Thanks,

Ayush Bansal

6:13 AM (10 hours ago)

to Sanjukta, Kulpreet, me, Women’s, Aakanksha

Here is the open letter: https://aakankshabhatia.wordpress.com/2016/05/23/an-open-letter-to-womens-web-pseudo-feminists-and-cyber-bullies/

Aparna – Why don’t you publish this open letter in Women’s Web ? Would not this count as something which has gone against women ? I hope you do publish it.
We first need a public apology and later we will be in any state to even hear from you on phone.
Thanks

Ayush Bansal

5:56 AM (11 hours ago)

to Women’s, me, Aakanksha
Hi Aparna,
Any further correspondence related to this matter has to be communicated to me.
Aakanksha is in no state to reply on this matter.

Thanks

Regards,
Ayush Bansal
On 23-May-2016, at 10:20 AM, Aakanksha Bhatia wrote:
———- Forwarded message ———-
From: Jhilmil Breckenridge <jhilmilbreckenridge@gmail.com>
Date: Mon, May 23, 2016 at 9:58 AM
Subject: Re: Clarifications to be expected today
To: Women’s Web <community@womensweb.in>
Cc: Aakanksha Bhatia
That is perfect, thank you.

Warmly,

Jhilmil

On Monday, May 23, 2016, Women’s Web <community@womensweb.in> wrote:

Dear Both:

We are digging into the bottom of this – since in our 5 years of publishing, this has never happened, there are no precedents and we need time today to get to the root of it. (The tech team has already begun over the weekend).
Given the sensitivities involved, I would prefer to keep emails to the two of you only as the affected parties. Based on our investigation, a public clarification in full will also be issued.
Regards,
Aparna

 

3 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Hey jhilmil is a very good soul, yogi, always in good karma, let us pray God for this will never happen again.

    Like

  2. Dear Jhilmil,

    I do not personally know you and so have nothing against you. But as a woman, a psychologist and a witness to the recent events that happened, I feel it is my duty to inform you where you went wrong in all this.
    First of all, I understand that you must have been distressed yourself to see your work published under a name of another author. Anyone would be. The right step to take in this situation is to contact the publication and the author at a personal level and not via twitter or any other social platform. There is a difference between being distressed and calling someone names in a public sphere before giving them time and opportunity to express their side of the story. With great power, comes great responsibility. Hence when one is broadcasting his/her thoughts on a public platform, they should be careful with the words they choose. You are hurt at your friends and supporters taking one side and then other, that is what happens when people lack empathy and jump to conclusions before trying to go to the depth of the situation. Isn’t it similar to what you did as well? Just reflect and now imagine how Aakansha must have felt.
    Coming to my second point, if and when we knowingly or unknowingly hurt someone or cause them distress we should apologise. But an apology is not just saying, it is much more than that. Consider that if you’re apologizing you must have done something to distress, hurt, offend, disappoint, frustrate, upset, anger, startle, or disrupt another person’s emotional equilibrium in some way. Therefore, the primary goal of your apology should be to ease that person’s emotional burden and garner their authentic forgiveness. As a bonus (and an important one), and only if your apology is effective, your own feelings of guilt or regret will ease. (Read: https://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/the-squeaky-wheel/201311/the-five-ingredients-effective-apology)
    The most important ingredient of an apology, which is also most often omitted, is the the statement of empathy. This is what your approach to this whole situation is lacking.
    Remember your words have caused distress to a person and people related to her. They cannot be instantly ready to accept your apology. Human emotions don’t work like that. And here again comes the point of patience and empathy. If they did not accept your apology, rather than venting it out on a public platform, try understanding what they went through, how much distress the whole incident caused them.
    The readers that you are addressing all this to, their opinions don’t matter. Your apology is not for the world but for the person who got hurt.

    I hope you read it in a positive light and try to understand where you went wrong and try to amend it, with patience, empathy and ethical responsibility.

    Thanks and Regards,
    Swati Sharma

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

