In Your Eyes. {Poetry}

Spirals.

image

{Enyoranca:
n. Catalan, a state of longing}

In your eyes, I read
stories. In your taste,
I forget. The rhythm
of your heartbeat
lulls me to safety.
Will you stay to steep
the tea? Or halve my pills?

You smell like rain
kissing dry earth.
Your torso rises
over buttocks I want
to sculpt. Your skin, softer
than cocoa butter. I am

lost. Everywhere, mulch
and moss. Fog and despair.
I come back
to the smell of rain.
Waiting for the sun to shine.

~ Jhilmil Breckenridge

Enyoranca is a Catalan word that means intense longing. The word does not really translate perfectly into English. In the context of this poem, I wrote it about a man whose body I really desire, but at some point I realised I am also making dreams of a future. And of course, with these things, timing is everything. So he may not be…

View original post 122 more words

Leave a Reply

